

AW4Clty'17 3rd international smart city workshop chairs' welcome

Weerakkody, Vishanth; Anthopoulos, Leonidas; Janssen, Marijn

Publication date

Document Version Final published version

Published in

Proceedings of the 26th International Conference on World Wide Web Companion

Citation (APA)

Weerakkody, V., Anthopoulos, L., & Janssen, M. (2019). AW4Clty'17 3rd international smart city workshop chairs' welcome. In R. Barrett, & R. Cummings (Eds.), *Proceedings of the 26th International Conference on World Wide Web Companion* Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

To cite this publication, please use the final published version (if applicable). Please check the document version above.

Other than for strictly personal use, it is not permitted to download, forward or distribute the text or part of it, without the consent of the author(s) and/or copyright holder(s), unless the work is under an open content license such as Creative Commons.

Takedown policy

Please contact us and provide details if you believe this document breaches copyrights. We will remove access to the work immediately and investigate your claim.

AW4City'17 3rd International Smart City Workshop Chairs' Welcome

It is our great pleasure to welcome you to the 2017 ACM Workshop on 3rd INTERNATIONAL WORKSHOP ON WEB APPLICATIONS AND SMART CITIES – AW4City'17, in conjunction with WWW 2017. This is our third attempt to setup a premier forum to address web-based application and Apps' design and development in the smart city context, which is a rapidly emerging domain and suggests a steadily evolving dominant market. Our short call for papers attracted 11 submissions from Asia, Europe, United States and the Middle-East. The program committee, with the contribution of additional scholars performed a blind peer-review process and accepted the following.

AW4City 2017	Reviewed	Accepted	
Full Research Papers	9	4	44%
Short Papers	2	1	50%

Selected papers discuss topics of extreme interest regarding workshop's objectives: Apps that focus on volunteer engagement and management; a novel approach for city's health monitoring and management, which is based on human DNA structure; a framework for applications' standardization in smart cities; an automated rule discovery approach for IoT applications in smart cities; and visual analytics for high dimensional data, retrieved from urban data streams. All the above works offer state-of-the art findings with regard to smart city applications and deliver useful outcomes for corresponding future agenda. We also encourage attendees to attend the keynote presentation, which comes from the prestigious practice of Digital City Kyoto and holds important experiences regarding AW4City'17 workshop's mission. These valuable and insightful talks can and will guide us to a better understanding of the future agenda regarding:

"Digital City, Smart City and Beyond", Toru Ishida (Department of Social Informatics Kyoto University)

Putting together AW4City'17 was a team effort. We first thank the authors for providing the content of the program. We are grateful to the program committee and the senior program committee, who worked very hard in reviewing papers and providing feedback for authors. Finally, we thank the hosting organization and ACM SIGs. We hope that you will find this program interesting and thought-provoking and that the workshop will provide you with a valuable opportunity to share ideas with other researchers and practitioners from the government, the academia and the industry around the world.

Leonidas Anthopoulos

Workshop Chair TEI of Thessaly, Greece

Marijn Janssen

Workshop Chair Delft University of Technology



Vishanth Weerakkody

Workshop Chair Brunel Business School



AW4City'17 3rd International Smart City Workshop

Workshop Chairs: Leonidas Anthopoulos (Business School, TEI of Thessaly, Greece)

Marijn Janssen (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)

Alternate Program Chair: Vishanth Weerakkody (Brunel Business School, London UK)

Organization Committee: Leonidas Anthopoulos (Business School, TEI of Thessaly, Greece)

Program Committee: Toru Ishida (Kyoto University, Japan)

Sofia Toufic Shwayri (University of California at Berkeley)

Nicolas Douay (MCF Paris 7 / UMR Géographie-Cités / LabEx DynamiTe, France)

Beth Coleman (University of Waterloo, Canada) Arthur Riel (The World Bank, Washington, U.S.A.)

Cristina Maria Bueti (International Telecommunication Union (ITU))
Christopher G. Reddick (The University of Texas at San Antonio, USA)
Markus Rittenbruch (Queensland University of Technology, Australia)

Flora Salim (RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia)

Mag. Michael Sachs (Zentrum für E-Governance, Donau-Universitat Krems)

Stephen Cohen (Microsoft, USA)

Nikolaos Mavridis (NCFSR Demokritos, Greece)

Alois Paulin (TUWien, Vienna, Austria)

Reviewers: Vaia Moustaka (Aristotle University, Informatics Department)

Gyrard Amelie (Eurecom)

Stephen Cohen (Microsoft Corporation)

Markus Rittenbruch (Queensland University of Technology, Australia) Zohreh Pourzolfaghar (School of Computing Dublin City University)

