Memory Studies Association First Book Award: Sabina Tanović, Designing Memory: The Architecture of Commemoration in Europe, 1914 to the Present (Cambridge University Press)

Prize: Prize (including medals and awards)


Shortlisted for the MSA First Book Award for the best first monograph in the field of memory studies by an MSA member published in English in 2019 or 2020 by the jury—made up of Sarah Gensburger, Catherine Gilbert, Klaus Neumann, and Jay Winter and chaired by Stef Craps.

Recognizing that memory studies is an interdisciplinary field, we welcome nominations of books published within any of our numerous sub-disciplines and related fields, be it cultural memory, collective memory, social memory, memory politics, trauma studies, memory and transitional justice, memory and witnessing, memory and oral history, memory and critical heritage studies, etc.

The MSA First Book Award is generously co-sponsored by the SAGE journal Memory Studies.
Degree of recognitionInternational
Granting OrganisationsMemory Studies Association

Awarded at event

Event titleMemory Studies Association
Fifth Annual Conference
LocationUniversity of Warsaw , Warsaw, PolandShow on map
Period5 Jul 2021 → 9 Jul 2021


  • Designing Memory
  • First Book Award